Catastrophic Personal Injury in Tennessee
A catastrophic injury is defined under Tennessee state law as:
- Paraplegia or quadriplegia
- Amputation of both hands or feet, or one of each
- Third-degree burns over 40 percent of your body
- Similar burns up to 40 percent of your face
- Wrongful death of a minor child over which you had custody
The limit placed in Tennessee law for personal injury cases is set at $750,000 for non-economic damages and $1 million for catastrophic injuries. Non-economic damages refer to the subjective element of damages such as pain and suffering, emotional distress, and loss of consortium or intimate relations. Economic damages, on the other hand, are unlimited and include loss of past and future earnings, past medical expenses, and a reasonable estimate of future medical bills.
While the injuries people suffer from accidents and collisions vary greatly, the experienced attorneys at Herndon, Coleman, Brading, & McKee are steadfast in our approach to handling these cases. We understand the pain you feel and have answers to the questions you have. Our goal is to thoroughly investigate every aspect of your case and put together a strong lawsuit on your behalf for full and fair compensation.
If you or a loved one has suffered a catastrophic personal injury, our experienced attorneys will aggressively pursue your case to the fullest extent the law allows.
◄ Back to Personal Injury News